The Passing of #AndyGriffith

3 Jul

The Passing of #AndyGriffith

Looking back on a time of innocence

I am saddened to hear of the death of Andy Griffith. Having grown up with him, and then growing older, it makes me reflect on the type of world that existed when Andy was seen on television. It was certainly a much simpler time. No IPads, IPhones or electronic playthings. Merely skipping rocks across a pond could entertain the average child, and bring a sense of peace and happiness. We went fishing as a family, and took rides together in the car to nowhere in particular.

When I look around me I sometimes long for those days. I sense that young children nowadays are missing out on so much, even though their lives are filled with gadgets.

Andy was well-respected and honest, Aunt Bea was revered as the matriarch, and Barney was, well, Barney. We’ve all known a Barney or two in our lives. Back in the day we didn’t bully, ridicule or make fun of those Barneys. We instead chose to go out of our way to boost him or her beyond where he or she thought possible.

Do you miss those times as I do? Or were you born later on, and now find it hard to believe that simpler times ever existed? I come from a family of four children. My mother often said that it was easier with four children than just one or two. She also sometimes said that it would be easier to raise chimpanzees—but she didn’t feel that way very often, thank goodness. We always found something interesting to do, and we had someone to do it with. I observe many young children today that haven’t had that experience, and I tend to feel sorry for them. We had to wait in line for what we got, and it wasn’t always something new—just new to us. We learned patience because we had to wait patiently. There is much to be said for “hand-me-downs” and playing with toys older siblings had already played with, and then grew too old to use. You had a sense of belonging to something bigger and more special than yourself.

Yes, Andy, you will be greatly missed. From Mayberry to Matlock, you portrayed characters that could be respected and emulated. I don’t see that so much anymore in the actors currently working. I miss that.

Rest in Peace, Andy. I will silently hum “Bringing in the Sheaves” one more time, and smile when I think of what you gave to the world. You certainly left the world better than you found it, and I am grateful for your legacy.

All my best!

Betty Anne

SUNSET DREAM BOOKS

www.sunsetdreambooks.com

On Twitter @sunsetdreamboox

 

Leave a Reply

