Have you stepped off of the sidewalk lately?

10 Jun

Feeling the need to be completely honest with you, I have to admit that I always LOVED school. I confess that I was even referred to as “teacher’s pet” more than once. Please don’t hate me for it. I didn’t play sports and wasn’t one of the popular girls. I guess I was just making the best of the situation.

Always doing extra credit and striving for A’s I spent quite a bit of my time indoors working on homework and projects. Believe it or not, it was fun for me. What I lacked at that time in my life was a little bit of the “rogue” spirit. Never wanting to break any rules, I walked a tight line–and because of that I didn’t have too much fun.

Can you even imagine that when I was in the 7th grade while waiting outside school for my mother pick me up to go to an appointment, I had the audacity to stand on the grass, not on the sidewalk! I was breaking the school rules for the first time, but I didn’t even realize it. Wouldn’t you know a “safety” spied me and couldn’t wait to stand toe to toe with me to point out my misdeed. She made me feel like a failure and ordered me off of the grass immediately! How dare I step off of that sidewalk onto the sacred grass!

The sad part was that even as a “mature” 7th grader, getting yelled at by a “safety” made me cry. Do you remember “safeties”? They wore the revered, white cross-over belt/harness thing. Maybe you were a “safety” in school, or the equally important “hall monitor”. For those of you who aren’t familiar with them, these special students were appointed by teachers to keep the rest of us in line.

I wanted to be good. I wanted to follow the rules. I was ashamed that at that time in my life I let my peers and the administration down. The good news is–as I grew older and braver, I learned to push some boundaries, chase some dreams, and I have accomplished much. I don’t think I would have done so had I not stepped off of some sidewalks and onto the grass.

You can step off of the sidewalk without getting run over in the dangerous street or parking lot. Learn how to have fun and frolic in the grass–somewhere between complete safety and downright danger!

All my best!

Betty Anne

SUNSET DREAM BOOKS

On Twitter @sunsetdreamboox

Leave a Reply

